To: Members of the RSCDS Qld Branch Inc.

Compiled by Erin McKenna with additions by Cathy McLeod

Re: The Calling of a Special General Meeting and the AGM for 2024

Some History:

While the RSCDS Qld Branch Inc. committee was working on updating our constitution, 'digging' around for information regarding our current constitution, Erin was made aware of a rule regarding the Length of Tenure of Management Committee Positions.

Current Situation:

At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on the 15/05/2005, a By-Law was passed regarding the Length of Tenure of Management Committee Positions. A copy of a section of the Minutes presented to the 2006 AGM is attached. This indicates that the length of continuous tenure is three (3) years.

As far as we know this By-Law was rescinded at an AGM but we cannot find a record of this. We have to assume that this By-Law is still in play.

What is a By-Law?

A By-Law is a rule/article proposed and agreed by members of the organisation to help with the day-to-day running of the organisation.

The constitution of an organisation allows for By-Laws to be passed by members. The constitution also allows for By-Laws to be rescinded by members.

By-Laws are not written into the constitution.

Value of such a By-Law:

A By-Law such as attached is common for most services clubs etc and professional bodies.

The values of such By-Laws are many eg:

- More members participation in the running of their organisation
- Allows for more ideas to be introduced and tried
- Saves committee members from burn-out
- Prevents factional ownership of the organisation

Situation of the <u>current</u> Management Committee:

The current Management Committee has eight members:

Bryan Hacker, Cathy McLeod, Kat Hayes, Connie Witt, Mark Dancer, Fran Beausaert, Diana Pascoe and Irina Gibson.

Of these members, Bryan Hacker, Cathy McLeod, Kat Hayes, Fran Beausaert and Diana Pascoe have indicated that they are not available to renominate for their positions.

Of the three members willing to renominate for their positions on the next committee (M Dancer, I Gibson and C Witt), only I Gibson will be eligible to stand when taking the threeyear rule into account. Mark Dancer (membership secretary) and Connie Witt (treasurer) have already served more than three years and would not be eligible to renominate for their positions.

Going forward:

The AGM is on Sunday, 26 May 2024, and in order to allow the smooth election of office bearers at the AGM , a Special General Meeting will be held before the AGM to deal with the three-year limit By-Law.

At the Special General Meeting the following motions will be tabled:

Motion 1: That the By-Law capping committee members tenure at three years be rescinded.

If this motion is carried at the meeting, motion 2a and 2b will be null and void.

If the members vote to keep the current By-Law with the three year tenure limit in place then, in the interest of retaining some continuity on the Management Committee, the following motions will be tabled:

Motion 2a: That Connie Witt be allowed to continue as Treasurer for the 2024-25 year.

Motion 2b: That Mark Dancer be allowed to continue as Membership Secretary for the 2024-25 year.

Motions 1, 2a and 2b are proposed by Cathy McLeod and seconded by Bryan Hacker.

Many thanks to Erin McKenna who painstakingly went through all our available records (constitution, meeting and AGM minutes) and compiled this information for us. The incoming committee will have the task of updating our current constitution to allow the RSCDS Qld Branch Inc. to work effectively into the future.